Frequently Quoted Inaccuracy #5: Refugees receive more welfare benefits than Australian citizens

It is interesting that the Federal Government provides a Single Refugee with a monthly allowance of $1,890.00 and each can also get an additional $580. 00 in social Assistance, For a total of $2,470.00. Family of 4 receive $9,880.00 per month. Family of 4 receive yearly $118,685

A single Australian pensioner who, after contributing to the growth and development of Australia for 40 to 50 years, receives only a monthly maximum of $1,012.00 in old age pension and Guaranteed Income Supplement.

Maybe our pensioners should apply as refugees! [1]

Reality:
Refugees (those whose have been recognised by DIAC as refugees and given permanent residency), are entitled to the same benefits as other permanent residents and citizens of Australia, however the normal waiting periods between the granting of permanent residency and eligibility for some benefits are waived.[2] Assistance with finding accommodation and information about services in Australia as well as some  short term trauma counselling in Australia is provided through the Integrated Humanitarian Settlement Strategy, which aids refugees for approximately six months, although that can be extended in special circumstances.[3]

For an excellent, and short, report on this topic, see Media Watch’s episode entitled Refugees and Welfare.


[1] An e-mail circulated throughout Canada, Australia and the United States. For examples, see: http://www.topix.com/forum/world/australia/TM0545U0G2M9E5PKO; http://forum.craftmagazines.com.au/showthread.php?t=2172&page=174.

[2] Luke Buckmaster, ‘Australian Government assistance to refugees: fact v fiction’ (2009) Parliamentary Library Background Note, p. 2. <http://www.aph.gov.au/library/pubs/bn/sp/AsylumFacts.pdf> at 17 August 2010.

[3] Ibid.

15 Comments

Filed under Frequently Quoted Inaccuracies (FQIs)

15 responses to “Frequently Quoted Inaccuracy #5: Refugees receive more welfare benefits than Australian citizens

  1. I WISH i could post this infomation as a link on facebook.

  2. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say
    is important and all. However imagine if you added some great photos or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website
    could undeniably be one of the very best in its niche. Superb blog!

  3. I truly love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply
    back as I’m wanting to create my own personal website and would love to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  4. However, with the movie Zombieland, it was an entirely different approach to dealing with zombie apocalypse.
    As suddenly as they had appeared, the road ahead was clear.
    It concerns the mysterious horrors of a “flesh consuming” existence, symbolically speaking more or
    less, that depict the grotesque lawlessness and selfishness of humankind.

  5. Art

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this website with my Facebook
    group. Chat soon!

  6. I appreciate, cause I discovered just what I was having a look for.

    You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  7. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you are just extremely great. I actually like what you have
    acquired here, really like what you are stating and
    the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a great
    website.

  8. Now I am ready to do my breakfast, later
    than having my breakfast coming again to read further news.

  9. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on
    your site. Im really impressed by it.
    Hello there, You’ve performed an excellent job.
    I will definitely digg it and individually recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  10. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog
    platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a
    hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely
    unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  11. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was
    entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  12. I’m extremely pleased to uncover this site. I want to
    to thank you for ones time just for this wonderful read!!
    I definitely really liked every little bit of it and i also have you bookmarked to check
    out new stuff on your web site.

  13. I was pretty pleased to find this page. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!!
    I definitely appreciated every part of it and I have you book marked to look at new stuff on your
    web site.

  14. whoah this weblog is magnificent i really like reading your posts.
    Keep up the good work! You realize, a lot of individuals
    are searching round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  15. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome,
    nice written and come with almost all important infos.
    I’d like to look more posts like this .

Leave a Reply

